PDF Print Email


Awards Program -
Midwestern Chapter

Recognize Excellence? Submit an Award Nomination!

Do you know of someone who has done an outstanding job on a landscape project or has provide outstand service to the Chapter?  How about someone who through their writing has advanced arboriculture within the Chapter?

Now is the time to submit nominations for Chapter Awards and for Gold Leaf Awards.  Let’s recognize the excellent work happening in the Midwestern Chapter. 

What about the Arbor Day events you helped with, or that outstanding landscape project that really made an impact.  Think about those that have done a terrific job of communicating tree care principles.  Take a few minutes to tell me about those projects which stand out in your mind. 

The nomination process is simple – one page outlining the details!  Download the nomination forms from the Chapter website at www.mwisa.org/awards . The deadline to submit a nomination is December 2, 2016!  All winners will be recognized at the MW ISA annual conference in Saint Louis February, 2017.

Right now, as we head into the fall season, is an ideal time to reflect on the successes and achievements of arborists and tree care professionals throughout our MWISA chapter.  I think many of us MWISA members recognize in the efforts of our peers numerous examples of outstanding work that makes a significant contribution to our industry, accomplishments often done without much notice or fanfare. These efforts often can provide “teachable moments” which may benefit many other arborists if these endeavors were more widely publicized.  Please consider that nominating a person or group for a MWISA award is more than just a pat on the back for the good work these individuals have accomplished, it is an acknowledgement of the value their contributions have given to arboriculture in the Midwestern Chapter.

Thanks you for your help, and I look forward to seeing your nomination. 

Brett O’Brien

Awards Liaison



The Midwestern Chapter of ISA annually recognizes individuals, groups, or organizations that have performed meritorious service in advancing the principles and practices of arboriculture and contributed significantly and unselfishly towards the progress of the Chapter.  Award winners are recognized each year at the MW ISA annual conference.  Awards are presented in six categories including:

  • AWARD OF MERIT: Recognizes outstanding meritorious service in advancing the principles, ideals, and practices of arboriculture. Granted only to members of the MW Chapter of ISA.
  • AUTHOR’S AWARD OF EXCELLENCE: Recognizes authors of outstanding publications, news stories, radio and television programs for sustained excellence in the dissemination of timely information pertaining to the field of arboriculture. The information provided must have impact on the Midwest chapter audience.
  • PRESIDENT’S AWARD:  Recognizes an individual, group, company or agency that has provided a significant impact in the field of arboriculture during the previous two years.  This award would be presented at the discretion of the current MW Chapter ISA President.
  • AWARD OF ACHIEVEMENT:  Granted to members of the Midwest Chapter ISA only, this award recognizes sustained outstanding effort or contribution to the advancement of ISA within the Chapter. 
  • HONORARY MEMBERSHIP:  Recognizes individuals or groups who are not members of the Midwest Chapter who have provided outstanding or noteworthy service in promoting arboriculture within the Chapter.  Recipients will have made material contributions to the advancement of arboriculture through research, field practice, promotion, invention or literature.  They should have an ongoing interest and may include individuals, groups or organizations. 
  • HONORARY LIFE MEMBERSHIP:  Bestowed upon members of the Midwest Chapter that have contributed materially and substantially to the progress of arboriculture in the Midwest Chapter and have given unselfishly in their efforts to support and advance arboriculture. 

In addition the Chapter presented the Arbor Day Gold Leaf Award.  The Gold Leaf Award is designed to recognize an individual, organization, or community in the Midwestern Chapter area for outstanding Arbor Day programs or community landscape beautification projects. This is an opportunity for the Midwestern Chapter to recognize projects that have had an impact on a community or region with an international award. Projects should show an impact over several years. 


Gold Leaf Nomination Award Form 

MW ISA Chapter Awards Nomination Form 


If you know an individual or group that has performed meritorious service in advancing the principles and practices of arboriculture, produced an outstanding publication or media program, contributed significantly and unselfishly towards the progress of the Chapter, held a unique or noteworthy Arbor Day activity, or completed a significant community landscape project, this is a great opportunity to recognize your peers, associates, citizens or other individuals.  


Wonder who has won in the past?  Click here for: Past Award Winners.

                                                                              Past Gold Leaf Award Winners

                                                                              2015 MWISA Award Winners



For more information on the MW Chapter Awards, please contact Brett O’Brien, Chapter Awards Liaison. Brett.obrien@como.gov  (573)874-7489


ISA Awards Programs -  http://www.isa-arbor.com/events/awardsprograms/index.aspx



powered by MemberClicks